The Heritage Signature Chorale

Lifting Spirits, Liberating Souls

The Heritage Signature Chorale is committed to preserving, at the highest possible level, the performance tradition of African-American choral music, especially the Negro Spiritual; to elevating the African-American singer and composer in all musical genres; and to bringing a unique interpretation of classical music from America, Europe and other regions of the world. 

The Chorale provides a venue for showcasing artists, composers, and arrangers who share this commitment, thereby fostering community awareness and appreciation of this important legacy. 

Founded in 2000 by Artistic Director Stanley J. Thurston, HSC seeks to enhance opportunities for a new generation of listeners to understand and appreciate the historical legacy of this music through education and performance. 


MEMBER ROSTER 2016 - 2017

Stanley J. Thurston, Artistic Director   ~    Maxwell Brown, Accompanist

Soprano I

Adriene Banks Rose Fisher Margo Hall
Eva Lucas Emily Ittner Arlene King-Berry
Patricia McCoy-Lassiter Barbara Mitchell Brenda D. Tucker

Soprano II

Janice Alexander Sherry Bell Louise Doss-Martin
Estelle Franklin Alison Gentry Dawn Howard
Letha W. Lucas Patricia Mabry Charlotte McGhee
Yolanda Peterson-Jones Anne Reid Shebbie R. Rice
Iris Richard Linda Rivere

Alto I

Sandra Collins Amelia Coram Ann Dyson
Heather L. Griffin Meredith Harrison Shirley Hennigan-Carter
Geneva Jones Margaret LaRue Avis Matthews
Ivy Meadows Phyllis Johnson Miller Jocelyn Sands
Theresa Simmons

Alto II

Yvonne Baskerville Courtney Brown Rey Forrest
Jennifer Lee Bettie McKenzie-Mabry Donna McMillan
L'Shauntee' Robertson Gail Ship

Tenor I

Sharon M. Baukman Cynthia Cephas William Harris
Chris Hollinsed Milton Pippens

Tenor II

Gregory Jeffries Thomas Mitchell Kevin Pinckney
Calvin Simpson Billie Smith Sherman Wright

Bass I

Daniel Callis Rufus Daniels Carlton Greene
Ronald King Wil Parker Jaime Robinson
Daniel Scott Earl Simmons

Bass II

Richard Glover Blake Lorenz Albert Spencer


Board of Directors

Thomas Bullock, President William S. Rice, III William E. Ayers Jr.
W. Christopher Hollinsed Sageta Jackson Wilbur Parker
Desmond Pierre-Louis Lenard Starks

Advisory Member

Ysaye M. Barnwell

Leadership Team

Stanley J. Thurston, Artistic Director Shebbie Rice, Chorale/Business Manager Avis Matthews, Operations Manager